There are three inevitable truths when it comes to California. First, our car culture is legendary. Second, our freeways are also legendary – with good reason. Third, we tend to have a lot of uninsured drivers. So what happens if you are involved in a collision with someone who doesn’t have insurance? Keep reading to find out.
It is illegal to drive without liability insurance in CaliforniaTo register a vehicle in California, you must have “proof of financial responsibility.” This must be in the form of liability insurance, a self-insurance certificate issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), a $35,000 cash deposit with the DMV, or a surety bond in the amount of $35,000 from a company licensed to do business here. Of these three options, liability insurance is by far the most common. This type of coverage provides compensation for parties (other than the policyholder) who get hurt or sustain property damage in a motor vehicle accident. Legally, this coverage for a private passenger vehicle must provide at least:
- $15,000 for injury/death to one person
- $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
- $5,000 for damage to property
- if a law enforcement officer requests it
- for motor vehicle registration renewal
- if you are involved in an accident while driving the vehicle